Triggerenter Problem

Hello all, I’m new in PlayCanvas and I’m making some small games to understand if the game engine can fit my needs.

I have a problem with the triggerenter event, this event seems to be raised on the trigger entity (the one with only the collision component) but not on the rigidbody entity (the one with both rigidbody (kinematic) and collision component). From the documentation (https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/api/pc.CollisionComponent.html) it seems that this event should be raised on both the trigger entity and rigidbody entity.

This is the test scene: https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/848732
I have a BallProva script that register onTriggerEnter to triggerenter event. If I add BallProva to the trigger entity (LeftWallTest) it print correctly on the console (so the event is rised). If I add BallProva to the rigidbody entity (BallTest) there are no print to the console (so the event is not rised).

What is wrong with my script?

Hi @Dave_C and welcome!

I think the issue here is that there is no entity that acts as a trigger.

When two entities collide the onTrigger events will fire only if one of the two is a trigger. For an entity to act as a trigger it should have only a Collision component and not a rigid body component. As then it would be part of the physics simulation.

If you haven’t already done, take a look at the following tutorial it explains a bit more on the subject:

https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/tutorials/collision-and-triggers/

Hello Leonidas, thank you very much for your answer.

I don’t know if you opened up the project, but there is exactly the entity trigger (the one with only a Collision component), and if I add the script to that entity the triggerenter event is rised. The problem is that this event is not rised on the entity with the rigidbody that trigger with the entity trigger :slight_smile: