pc.Application.getApplication().scenes.loadSceneHierarchy() broken?

There is unexpected behavior in my project. I am new to PlayCanvas and the problem certainly can be a fault in my code. The full code is included below.

Questions

1. How can I change my sourcecode to meet my expected behavior?
  2. Does this demonstrate a PlayCanvas bug? If yes, when will it be fixed?

Demo

I created a demo project to test reloading the current scene. I attempt to use the recommendations I see on the forum.

Expected Behavior: During ONE session, it works the first time and EVERY time after the first.

Actual Behavior: During ONE session, it works the first time. Then breaks the 2nd time sometimes. It breaks the 3rd time always.

https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/919848

Log showing a) expected, b) expected, c) not expected

Here is my fixed fork: https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/919880

When listening for events on object whose lifetime is not the same as the listenerā€™s, it has to be removed at some point (in this case, the listenerā€™s entity destroy event).

As it wasnā€™t removed, it was calling the callback twice the second time round.

1 Like

Excellent. That workaround performs well.

It is unmanageable to handle a complete game this way.

As a core API request, I recommend a few mutually exclusive features

1. API allows to load new scene non-addititively where nothing in runtime persists except the new scene (Unity calls this ā€œSingleā€ https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/SceneManagement.LoadSceneMode.Single.html)
  2. API treats destroy as a first class citizen of script (e.g. like ā€œinitializeā€ and ā€œupdateā€) and does not require manual listening.
  3. API allows for a version of observing events [e.g. "blah.on(ā€œblahā€, this.handle, this)] which will release the event subscription from blah if ā€˜thisā€™ is destroyed.