First Person Movement Crouching

Hello all

I’m new to playcanvas and programming i started with the first person movement script to create a fps game but could not figure out how to implement crouching. I did some research in unity and the forum and found out that reducing the collider to half its original value should work but when I implement this myself everything seems to be really slow. The player moves really slowly in general and when you crouch it crouches really slowly and hardly moves, and the crouch bugs through the floor as well.

https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/1191042

Here is the code that I put for crouching

if (app.keyboard.isPressed(pc.KEY_C)) {
        this.entity.collision.height = 1;
    }
    else {
        this.entity.collision.height = 2;
    }

Could somebody please take a look at the code and tell me what I did wrong or point me in the correct direction?

Thanks

Hi @nasjarta and welcome,

I think when changing a collision component property to have the physics body get updated you need to trigger somehow the physics system to recreate the rigid shape and body. Easiest way is by toggling on/off the rigidbody component.

Here is my try on your code with crouching being a toggle:

if (app.keyboard.wasReleased(pc.KEY_C)) {

if( !this.crouching){
            this.crouching = true;

this.entity.rigidbody.enabled = false;
            this.entity.rigidbody.enabled = true;            

}else{
            this.crouching = false;

}
    }

3 Likes

Hi @Leonidas

Thank you so much for your help, this works perfect I did a tiny modification and made it so you can push to hold crouch:

if (app.keyboard.isPressed(pc.KEY_C)) {
        if (!this.crouching) {
            this.crouching = true;

}
    } else if (app.keyboard.wasReleased(pc.KEY_C)) {
        this.crouching = false;

}