Documentation feedback wanted - What would you like to see improved?

We are looking to improve our documentation and really want to focus on areas that have affected our community the most. We would love to hear your feedback about using the documentation and tutorials so we can do our best to act on it! :slight_smile:

Topics include (but not limited to):

• What are we missing that turned into hours long search on the forums?
  • What do you need that is not available yet?
  • How easy/hard is it to find the information that you need?
  • What are your common use cases for projects
  • What would be your ideal/dream documentation site/flow?
  • Are the tutorial samples enough?
  • How do you go about looking for information?

Looking forward to hearing your feedback :grimacing:!

3 Likes

Perhaps, I could share my experience with Playcanvas, even though I am still learning it.

The very first steps for me were to go through the User Manual and afer that checking all Tutorials. Most of the tutorials are just projects, demonstrating a feature of the engine. I didn’t go through the code, but simply looked what was possible with it. Later, when I started my first project and had a need to implement a feature, I was like “Oh, I think there was some example that showed something similar to it”. I would then go through the tutorials again and try to find it.

Probably the most informational and valuable from the learning perspective for me was the Keepy Up tutorial series. It introduced me with most of the important basic concepts of the engine and how to use them. After completing it, I was able to create my own game. I think it would be nice, if there would be more tutorials like that. The good thing about the series is that they not only show how to use a feature (like in most of the examples currently), but also can explain why it is used this way or another.