Accessing Depth Buffer in shader without chunking

I see the fog example which uses chunks,
I’m fairly new to writing shaders and prefer to stick to my workflow of using full vertex/fragment shaders. Is there a simple way to access the depth buffer this way?
Any help is much appreciated!

On github I saw December 2nd: “added a shared chunk to graphics, which gets included in all fragment shaders, for global built-in functions. Currently contains a function to generate texture coordinates for sampling from grab pass, and this handles the upside down case for WebGPU.”
Not sure what this function is and I suppose there aren’t any examples for it yet. I’ve tried directly sampling uSceneDepthMap, no luck unfortunately.

Hi @Slush,

You can use the depth buffer in custom shaders, I don’t have an example right now in my mind. But you can try including somewhere at the top of your custom fragment shader the following (it’s a string):

pc.shaderChunks.screenDepthPS

And also make sure to ask for depth, I think enabling Depth Grapbass at your active camera will do that:

Now you can use the regular shader chunk methods to request for depth:

float depth = getLinearScreenDepth();

Let me know how that works for you.

This engine only examples shows you a custom vertex / fragment example to access the depth:
https://playcanvas.github.io/#/graphics/ground-fog

That should be pretty easy to use in the Editor as well.

1 Like

This is what I originally tried, but this depth value always reads 1.

Additionally I get a one-time error Shader [Shader Id 5 shader] requires texture sampler [uSceneDepthMap] which has not been set, while rendering [Pass:RenderAction 0-0 Cam: Camera | Camera | World | NurbsPath.020] which I’m assuming is only an issue on the first frame. Interestingly, this error does not get thrown when using BLEND_NORMAL, but I would like to use BLEND_NONE on my material.