// Option 1 - with events
    this.entity.fire("...:movePlayer", raycast.point);

// Option 2 - entity bound
    this.entity.targetPoint = raycast.point;

// Option 3 - script bound?
    this.entity.script.movePlayer.moveTowards(raycast.point);
};

I am not good at this but my opinions are:
Option 1 - Events are nice because they remove coupling but more cost heavy than direct bind on entity. Also, many entities can listen to the said event.

Option 2 - Best, performance wise, but controller and movement class need to be on the same object which makes them tightly coupled (since we are directly setting the position of the said entity. Value is entity bound, not script bound (if that makes sense)).

Option 3 - Think it’s the worst of the 3 (in this situation) because not only are they coupled (both scripts need to be on the same entity), it needs to look for the script on the entity and then find it’s method and pass the value every tick.

My general rule of thumb is:

• If a script is reusable and self contained, I have it post events via the entity object. Eg something that loads and process an asset (option 1)
  • If it’s a script that manages the entity and depends on other scripts, then I would more than likely access the other scripts directly via the script component as it makes no sense for it to use a decoupling pattern (option 3)

Worth mentioning that option 3 is a O(1) lookup in PlayCanvas so it’s super cheap

I use the event pattern here as the scripts are mostly self contained and communicate out and the Bitmoji3d.js script is effectively the manager of the entity: https://playcanvas.com/project/721733/overview/3d-bitmoji-library

3 Likes

Hi @JustVlaxx! I have never managed to use option 1 in my project. Perhaps because my project is less suitable for it. I think I use a combination of option 2 and 3 myself.

2 Likes