Vortelli’s Pizza Delivery - A 3D open-world driving game

You can play Vortelli’s Pizza Delivery on Poki!

Intro

Vortelli’s Pizza Delivery is a 3D open-world driving game. It launched on Poki on September 20, 2023, and so far has been played over 8 million times, 6 million of which were in the first 30 days. Players from 227 countries and territories have collectively spent around 1.2 million hours in-game. During development, I had no idea the game would reach so many people. Its performance has exceeded our wildest expectations and it has made us very optimistic about the future of web games.

Background

I’ve been developing 3D web games for a little over two years now. My first game, Vortelli’s Pizza, was released on Poki in mid-2022. Its launch was a crazy story which you can read here. Since then, it has been played over 40 million times. Following its success, I’ve been joined part-time by my partner, Kelsey. She is a talented UX designer and 3D artist, and together we’ve been supporting Vortelli’s Pizza with content and UI updates.

When reading feedback left by the Vortelli’s Pizza players, we noticed many of them wanted to explore the city beyond the limits of the pizza restaurant. When I was a kid, I loved playing open world driving games like Grand Theft Auto and I remember how exciting it was to explore the seemingly endless game world. We thought it would be an interesting challenge to see if we could bring a similar game to the web browser for the Vortelli’s Pizza fans.

Building the Game World

The foundation for this entire project is the PlayCanvas Vehicle Physics demo project. If you’re thinking about building a driving game in PlayCanvas, this is the perfect place to start. It’s a very simple project, but it has excellent performance and it’ll run on nearly any device and browser.