Trigger an object to appear when you collect a certain item

Hello, this is my first time using Playcanvas and been struggling with understanding coding lately. I’m making a simple 2D game where my character collects items to achieving the game’s objectives. I plan to trigger an object to appear when you collect a certain item, but I don’t know how to spawn the item when a certain item’s collected. How does the coding work? Thank you :"<

1 Like

Hello @amara1105 and welcome!

I would take a look at this example. It takes you through on how to complete a game with PlayCanvas. I believe it covers the game mechanic you’re describing!

https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/tutorials/crash-course/

Good luck!

4 Likes

Hello, thanks for the welcome! Thank you so much for responding to my concern! Yes, this seem to be the kind of game mechanic I’m looking for! Is it also possible to spawning maybe 2 more items and when it gets collected, 2 appears? Thanks again! :slight_smile:

Yes, of course. Once you get a good grasp of the game mechanics you can alter them as you like!

1 Like

Hello! I just came back from the crash course tutorial and it’s pretty overwhelming but I understand it! Though, is there a simplified version of the code without the timer and specifically focuses on triggering items only? Thanks again! :smiley:

1 Like

Really glad you understood it! Maybe you will need to study a simpler project, like this tutorial: Collision and Triggers | Learn PlayCanvas

Once you understand this, you will need to figure out how to spawn items in the right event :wink:

2 Likes