Toggle Script

Hello, I know there is a Post for this exact problem but I can’t figure out the solution, sry :frowning:

In my project I am using a SSAO script and i’d like to toggle it by pressing a key. This Post introduced a script to do exactly that but I don’t understand how to change it so it works for me.

I changed the name of the script I do want to toggle (ssao) and the key event.

This is my ssao script attached to the camera

This is the Script from the other post in my project files

I am new to PlayCanvas and not the best coder, so could you please help me find my problem?

Thank you for any help <3

Hi @Sarrus4x4,

It should work, not sure why it’s not working for you. Are you getting any errors in the console?

Here is a quick try of mine on an example project, check the toggle-ssao.js script:

ToggleSsao.prototype.update = function(dt) {

if(this.app.keyboard.wasReleased(pc.KEY_1)){
        this.entity.script.ssao.enabled = !this.entity.script.ssao.enabled;
    }
};

https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/1746283

2 Likes

Thank you for your help!

I found the problem… I was stupid and did not add the toggle script to the camera :expressionless:

Now it works :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Is it also possible to link this toggle to a simple button? A simple JS button as an overlay to the Application.

Here I’ve updated the script to listen to a UI button at the same time. To do that I’ve moved the script to the button entity, and added a separate script attribute to target the camera entity:

var ToggleSsao = pc.createScript('toggleSsao');

ToggleSsao.attributes.add('cameraEntity', {
    type: 'entity'
});

// initialize code called once per entity
ToggleSsao.prototype.initialize = function() {

// --- events
    this.entity.button.on('click', function(){
        this.toggle();
    }, this);
};

ToggleSsao.prototype.toggle = function() {
    this.cameraEntity.script.ssao.enabled = !this.cameraEntity.script.ssao.enabled;
};

// update code called every frame