Tessellation like the Professionals

Hi,

Are you planning on allowing developers to integrate code into the editor as you have done with the vertex/fragment shaders but specifically for the tesselation part of the GPU pipeline? My video game I’ve developed using Playcanvas editor is aimed for users with a low-end mobile & tablets. Compared to actually apps I download from the app store such as Subway Surf or Mickey Mouse Castle of Illusion, my own Playcanvas app just doesn’t seem to be able to handle complex meshes, it just crashes. I keep trying but can’t seem to get a game with a decent detailed level.

Any plans for tesselation for the future of Playcanvas? I’d even pay for the Organization plan for this integration. If I can’t do this with Playcanvas I’d have to begin using another editor like Lumberyard

https://www.slant.co/versus/5149/5164/~playcanvas_vs_lumberyard

I’ve spent one-year full-time working on my game, about 5-8 hours a day. I’m a professional web-based video game maker and have enjoyed working with Playcanvas, but it would be sad to have to switch since my game requires great visuals, beautifully smooth, soft, visuals for little kids. Sharp edges can’t be in the final product released.

• Thanks,
    Anton G

You are more limited by what you can do in the browser. If you are developing a mobile game not for the web and want the highest fedlity, you are best going native and using an engine such as Unity, Unreal etc.

If you are building a game for web, I would caution using engines that aren’t native as their web export is optimal (at the moment) compared to PlayCanvas, three.js etc .

For your actual problem:

I would look at LODing your complex meshes and downloading the right detail level at runtime pending on the device it’s been run on.

I believe a forum member has written a LOD plugin. Released: Hera LOD Manager

1 Like

The other thing that could be crashing the browser would be running out of VRAM.