Starriser: var the = new spacial ("strategy", {game: "for web-broser"});

Hi, I’m David, the head graphic programmer of Arpic Games, a new game studio from Valencia (Spain). Our first project is Starriser.

Starriser is a web browser strategy game with a space opera background. The user has control of a planet and the troops in it. He can trade with other planets, fight intergalactic wars, pirate other user’s fleets, etc.

For now Starriser uses Canvas 2d, but I have mid-term plans to iterate to webGL. I’m studying playCanvas, three.js and other competitors. I like playCanvas very much and I’m seriously considering using it.

• I have several questions:
    Will the scene (Blender, Maya, etc) importer be downloadable?
  • I have adapted the spinning cube demo to render one thousand cubes and the framerate fell to 30 FPS. Is performance the priority for the playCanvas team? (I consider that the team may have other priorities. Examples: Scalability, release dates, support, documentation, etc. And I consider that they are very good priorities).
  • The demos in the webpage don’t work or have visual glitches in Chrome Mobile/Firefox Mobile on Android 4.4.4 (Moto G). What are the plans for mobile support? What platforms and versions?
  • I read several questions on this page and I found this answer “We have this class but is not documented yet” (in the websockets abstraction layer question). What is the state/finish-progress of the documentation?

I realize that playCanvas is a huge effort and I’m amazed at the magnificent work that you have done. Thank you for this wonderful engine.

But, I need to know the answer to the previous questions in order to evaluate playCanvas as possible future engine of Starriser.

Thanks, David.

Hi David,

Great to hear from you!

To answer your questions: