[SOLVED] Force garbage collection?

Hi :slight_smile:

Is it possible to force the garbage collector to run? In C# we can call GC.Collect() or something like that, but I haven’t seen anything similar in PlayCanvas.
When we transition from the menu to the game scene, we would like to make sure we don’t have any garbage leftover and the best place to have the garbage collector do it’s thing would be during the loading screen where any stuttering wouldn’t impact gameplay.

Unfortunately, as far as I know, there is no way to manually trigger the garbage collector in JavaScript. (At least universally between the browsers).

That’s too bad. I guess we have to spend more time tidying up our code then :smile:
Thanks for the reply.

Does this mean that there is also no way to disable the GC, in favor of manually running the collector?

I’m new to JavaScript, but this technique was important for getting large projects to run in Lua.

1 Like

Yes, you aren’t able to disable the garbage collector nor control when collection happens.

So, yes, it’s a long journey of following JavaScript best practices to get decent performance and memory management.

1 Like

Forcing garbage collection means you have a memory issue and you don’t know what is causing it. Chase done the leak!

Same story with java code. A long time ago the Swing GUI of one of our projects eventually hogged up all the memory. I dug deep into optimising garbage collection. In the process, we found the leak in one of our layouting libs.

Quintessenz of the story: even if you tune garbage collection - you have to know what is causing your problems. And at that point you can fix the issue at the root :slight_smile:

Of course, memory leaks should be traced and killed.