[SOLVED]2D multiplane animation with alpha raycasting

Hi Guys,

I’m very new to PlayCanvas and fairly new to games engines in general, so if this is a ridiculous question, I apologise in advance.

I have a collection of layers which are png images with alpha, all the same size. I have layered them as separate plane entities within a 2D screen entity, and applied a separate material to each, and loaded the texture as emissive and alpha opacity, and it all looks exactly as it should.

I now need to be able to work out which one image is hit at any particular spot on the screen.

Since the build-in raycasting doesn’t seem suited for that, I was assuming that I should be able to capture the point on the screen, convert that to world co-ordinates, and check the opacity map texture at that equivalent point of the layers front to back, until I find something opaque, at which point I know which layer I have hit, and can carry on.

Although this seems like a good plan, I have managed to capture the mouse event, and convert that to world coordinates, and to work out the bounding box of the layers (which are all the same size), but I cannot work out how to calculate (or read) the correct pixel of the texture map to check the opacity at that point on that layer.

Can anyone help? Or am I being foolish and missing the obvious way you’re supposed to do this sort of thing?

Thanks!

You should be able to get the sprite asset ID from the element component to get the texture from the registry and access the source data: https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/api/pc.Texture.html#getSource

I haven’t done this myself so this is just theory. Good luck :slight_smile:

getSource() - how did I miss that! :slight_smile: