Scriptable Objects>

So I came across this tutorial about Scriptable Objects. Basically making an object in which I could store information on and use later.

So in the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPXvoWVabPY

Brackey’s does this dope thing where he’ll make like the Health, Name, Image etc, and then reuse that information on other objects, and it makes it simple and easier to keep track of data.

I’m positive there’s a way to do this in playcanvas, but not sure how. It’d be like making my own asset that I then can attach other assets too. Similar to like a material that takes on textures, and then that material is applied onto a model, but instead I make my own asset that takes on let’s say ‘Health’, ‘Name’, etc and then be able to extract that data for later use.

Let me know of a way to do such a thing since I’m a noob.

Hmm… There’s a not a one to one type in PlayCanvas. The closest you can get to it is using JSON assets but things like images/textures etc are not assignable. You would to do things like look ups etc in the asset registry by name/id etc.

I do something similar here: https://playcanvas.com/editor/code/560025?tabs=12879307,12879345

So you can’t really make an interface that you can plug and go then? You’d have to use the JSON stuff?

I’m not sure how that works btw, can you give me any documentation on this? Something where I can plug in the JSON as an attribute to a Script then pull from that JSON to find the right assets.

I may have something working! The example you sent was overwhelming haha Didn’t understand what was needed and what was over the top epic coding.

But a bit of baby stepping got a reasonable result. I’ll come back later with findings.

It would be great though to create attributes within the JSON file so you can drag and drop or input values outside of it, but it’s no big hurdle :wink:

I found this useful to check my json too