Rotating an object using scrollbar

Hello everyone

I apologise for my ignorance, but am stuck on a really simple thing. I have a rigged character that I want to control using scrollbars. Essentially this is in order to make an anatomy app to teach students about body movements. Hence I want scrollbars that can be used to flex joints etc.

Please can someone give me a very simple guide to how to write a simple bit of code to couple the value of a scrollbar to the rotation of an object. I am pretty new to Playcanvas

Thanks in advance

Steve

If you get a reference to the scrollbar component, you can get the normalised position of the scrollbar (between 0-1) ScrollbarComponent | PlayCanvas API Reference

At which point, you can set the rotation of a model based on that value.

Thanks. As a complete Javascript novice, please could you give me some more detail on what I need to do?

Thanks again

Steve

Do you have an example project to work from?

Sorry, no not yet. An example using a simple cube should be fine though. I can extrapolate from that

Cheers

Steve

Office hours video:

Example project: https://playcanvas.com/project/946512/overview/f-rotate-using-scrollbar

2 Likes

Amazing. I’ll let you know how it goes. Many many thanks

Working very nicely. A question about scrollbars. I don’t want to use the full range of the scrollbar, only the 0.3-0.7 interval. Is there a way to alter the maximum and minimum values on the scrollbar? I have clamped the value I use for rotation, but it leaves areas on the left and right hand sides of the scrollbar that are not used.

Thanks

Solved it with a bit of simple maths, but I still wonder if there is a range function for the scrollbar?

No, you will have to either reduce the rotation range for the normalised value of 0-1 (eg, instead of 360 degrees, you do 270) or convert the range 0-1 to 0.3-0.7 (v = v * ((0.7 - 0.3) + 0.3).