Problem Streaming Multiple Textures

I’m new to javascript and PlayCanvas and - working on a pretty complicated Project - came across a problem i don’t know how to solve:

I’ve got a scene with about 150 cloned models that are rather complex and i want to set individual textures to each of them.
These Textures (about 5 per clone) are stored in a firebase storage and downloaded at runtime.
The models themselves have LODs, they only need their textures when the camera is close to them as all other Levels of Detail look (more or less) the same.
The Problem i’m facing is that everytime i come close to one of those objects and the new materials including the downloaded textures are distributed on the mesh instances and are rendered for the first time there is a huge lag in the scene.
The only way i could get rid of this lag is by dowloading all the textures and setting all the Materials before activating the LOD scripts on each of my models. But that means i’ve got a huge amount of data loaded into VRam (~4,5 gb) at any given time, which will be problematic for many devices.

i will try to provide a generic project, but thats rather problematic as well because i dont really want to give out firebase access.

i hope that was comprehensible and you guys can help me out here.

Re VRAM, I think only the ORG accounts have access to texture compression that can help reduce the VRAM usage.

Re Huge lag, is that from downloading on demand and/or processing the texture too?

It’d be useful to profile the application (in Chrome dev tools) to see what’s causing the slowdown. How large is the slowdown? It could be related to downloading / creating the texture itself, but also compiling shader for your new material.

Okay so the Lag only occurs when the app actually renders the new Materials (compiling the shader maybe?).
Just downloading and creating a material without actually using it keeps the app running smoothly.