Make a playlist / audio triggering next audio after being played

Hi I’m very new to PlayCanvas and I dont know how to code.

I’d like to create an animation with a playlist for my music, basically kind of a radio station. Is this complicated? Basically what I am looking for is a way to let another sound play after another automatically as the background music of my animation.

Im trying these things here:

But i’m not really sure if they are intended to trigger a component after another after being played?

As far as I understand I need to write a script that would trigger sound components after each other, right? Could someone help me with that or is there already one i can adapt from another game?

Thanks for any advice how to do this without much experience!

Best

I think what you want to look for are the slots.

Anyway, did you try to start with the audio tutorials?

Hello @asnras, to do what you’re looking for, you’ll want to take a look at the SoundComponent, as you’ve mentioned. What I’d do is use the entity.sound.on('end' ... event to get a notification of when the current clip has finished playing.

If you’re interested, I’ve made an example project to showcase how this can be done. Take a look at the clip-player.js script, as well as the Play Button entity in the scene.

Wow thank you so much, this is really helpful!

Do you think there is a way to have the clips played in a random order? And loop the whole sequence endlessly?

Also I’m trying to find out how to rewrite the code so it does auto-play by default without a button.

Thanks in advance!!!

You should be able to make clips be played in a random order by shuffling the array of songs being played. You can do that with a simple algorithm, like Fisher-Yates Shuffle.

To loop the sequence endlessly you could just check if currentSongIndex is greater or equal to songList.length - 1. If it is, set currentSongIndex to 0, effectively restarting the playlist.