Local engine host=local asset storage?

I’m brand new to the PlayCanvas editor with little to no coding experience, but I’m a decent problem solver. I saw your engine spotlighted by Games From Scratch on YT. I uploaded a character asset from Mixamo and I immediately maxed out my storage on the free tier. Do I understand correctly, if I build an engine locally from the Git, I can make games locally, bypassing the memory limit of your cloud storage? If not skip this part, If so great, but I’m stuck. I think I’ve built it correctly, it passes the test. I navigate to the engine/build/ouput folder and run the nodejs server, then in the browser I test the connection using http://localhost:51000/D:/Documents/GitHub/engine/build/output/playcanvas.js but in the browser I get: This localhost page can’t be found. In the console I see the request, then it errors saying the 404 not found.

TL;DR:
By building locally, am I running an instance of the editor locally?
If so where are the project folders for assets? What & where is the .js file I need to point to?
If not, 200mb is too limiting of storage. Maybe allow personal cloud storage or increase storage?
I want to dev a game, then purchase the higher tier at launch to drop the splash.
I’ve scoured the Docs: Using a Custom Engine, the readme.md in git

Please help, hope this makes sense

1 Like

No. The engine is open source but not the editor. It’s possible to make a game with just the engine but it’s a different approach (see examples in the GitHub repo).

It’s a reasonable amount for a single web game. How large are the assets from Mixamo? (The service is a bit weird about how it calculates storage though :thinking:) The free tier is generally for people to try out the Editor and Engine before they commit to a personal/ORG tier for private projects.

A local editor would be a dream come true, but I don’t expect this to happen.