Implementing walking script

Hello,

I am a junior front-end developer and very new in javascript so I apologize in advance if my question is too silly. I just thought playcanvas would be a good way to learn more about javascript and here I am.

I am building my first demo to try and work things out and I have already stumbled upon an issue.
This is my editor link: https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/926987.

I got an iddle animation going on while my character is waiting, but I would like to swap to the walking animation when I hit the arrows that move her. I also thought my character should rotate left or right before turning on those directions but when my rotation starts it just goes on forever. I just want it to happen while the button is pressed.

I hope what I am trying to do makes sense and again sorry if this is too simple to solve, I am just too new in javascript and that’s the reason why if someone has a solution for my issues I would also like an explanation so that I can understand what’s going on and what I did wrong.

Please let me know if you need any more links from me.

Thanks

Hi @Nick_Kalfas and welcome,

Nice assets! To your question, you can disable the Loop property on your animation component:

If you do that, then each time you call the animation play method it will play the relevant animation only once. Here is one way to do that:

Walking.prototype.initialize = function() {
   this.activeAnimation = 'idle';
};

// update code called every frame
Walking.prototype.update = function(dt) {

var newAnimation = 'Great Sword Idle.json';    
    var blendTime = 0.3;

if (window.keyboard.isPressed(pc.input.KEY_W)){
        this.entity.translate(0, 0, -0.1);     
        newAnimation = 'Great Sword Walk.json';
    }

if (window.keyboard.isPressed(pc.input.KEY_S)){
        this.entity.translate(0, 0, 0.1);
    }

if (window.keyboard.isPressed(pc.input.KEY_A)){
        this.entity.translate(-0.1, 0, 0);
    }

//ROTATION