How could I make an NPC?

I have a cat object and i just want it to occasionally move around and rotate. Can anyone teach me how to accomplish this?

There are many ways. I may be able to help you, but your request is pretty broad. Which makes me think that you may be new to programming and PlayCanvas. Instead of showing you exactly how to do it, it would be more beneficial for you if I guide you in the process of figuring out how to do it yourself. So, first, a few questions.

• Do you have any programming experience or are you new to coding? (either is fine, we all started somewhere)
  • Have you taken a look at the docs?
  • Have you familiarized yourself a bit with the API?
  • Have you taken a look at the tutorials tutorials?
  • Do you have at least a rudimentary understanding of scripting in PlayCanvas or are your starting from scratch?

Answer those questions and I’ll have a better idea of the best way to guide you.

I have some programming experience in python but only the basics in javascript. Ive checked out the tutorials and couldnt find anything that could help me, and i looked at the docs but i dont know were to start.
I do have a basic understanding of scripting in playcanvas.(i think)

Ok. What about 2D or 3D game design? Is this your first project?

I have plenty of game design experience in 2D but not in 3D.

Ok, no worries, it’s similar, we just need to add a Z to your X and Y :wink:

Are you planning to move entities using physics forces or are you just planning to use translation?

Have you played around with moving entities around in PlayCanvas yet? Perhaps a simple player object that you control and move around?

i learned how to make an object move around with the arrow keys. Also I would like to use physic forces to move the object around but i dont know how.