[ENGINE ONLY] Scene loading and model loading

Hi, I am really new to PlayCanvas and evaluating it atm. Until now really like it and thinking of switching my project from CopperLicht to PlayCanvas engine. By now I am not thinking of using the Editor, so I am curious in help with Engine only stuff. Has anyone an example how to archieve dynamic scene loading and loading of models? I read that PlayCanvas have some JSON format for models and is able to convert e.g. FBX to such format. I am also curious how to load scenes and models via API from a Server. Surely I have a lot to learn and I am at the beginning of setting up an environment. By the short time I use this forum I very much like your support and want to thank you in advance for help. Best, Ingo

This would be a good start - engine only exmples (without using the editor). They all have a link to source code as well. http://playcanvas.github.io/#animation/blend.html

Regarding the models - you can convert fxb to json files and load that, but perhaps loading glb models directly would be a better option - it does not need the Editor, and loads faster too. Most of those examples do that.

1 Like

Thanks @mvaligursky for your fast reply, I try those out.
I am thinking of starting with this example: https://launch.playcanvas.com/980178?debug=true
Can I use this model for testing purposes? And in what way is this source code different from those on http://playcanvas.github.io?

For testing you can use code / models from any public projects.

The project you linked was created in the editor, so it might not load anything manually, you drag & drop those assets into the Editor, place them in the scene and this gets automatically loaded, so no need to do the basics.

@mvaligursky Thanks for clarifying. So the script code which I see in the editor is not compatible with engine only? Sorry for maybe asking silly question :slight_smile: