Character always facing camera while in orbit

Hello all,

I’m pretty new to Playcanvas, but wanted to reach out to get a bit of guidance on how to go about creating a routine that constantly keeps an animated character facing the camera.

A few notes:

• I have a rigged character with a few animations attached to him.
  • I would like to have one animation looping
  • The camera is setup to orbit around a center group of objects
  • I would like the walk_left.json or walk_right.json animations to only trigger as the camera rotates, thus keeping the character always moving to face the camera.
  • The goal is to make this feel as natural as possible, which is why the character is not a child of the camera, or anything like that. That would create a sort of sliding effect, which is not what I’m looking for.

Any thoughts on how to go about this?

Only have a rough idea on what you are trying to do. As you only have walking left and walking right animations, I would guess that you want to check if the camera is to the right or to the left of the character and walk in said direction.

Yes, I understand this was a bit ambiguous, and I apologize for that. I’m really getting the hang of this.

I need to put this in code and see what works and what breaks, but the logic seems to be something like:

• Get a script listening to the camera’s Y axis
  • Define ranges. Example:
  if (cam.y > 0 && cam.y < 45){ 
     if(newQuadrant != currQuadrant){
          trigger -> turn-right-anim; 
          currQuadrant = newQuadrant;
     }
  }

My questions are:

• If the model is in the middle of an animation, will the turn-right-anim inturrupt the current animation? will the current animation pick up where it was after the turn-right-anim completes or will it send it back to the beginning.