Certain models are crashing my app

Hi there,

I am really new to the 3D development and WebGL in general. I started pretty naively just throwing models into my scene and everything was good until some new models started to crash my app. It has nothing to deal with the number of polygons in my scene, I installed some debugging tools just to prove that this is not the case. The model that is problematic has less than 1k triangles. When I switch the graphic processor from the integrated one to my GPU the problem is gone HOWEVER this is not a solution since I cannot ask every user of the app to do the same. The file formats for models that I’m using are only FBX. I cannot share the model as it’s bought from a store and thus is illegal to do so but here’s a link to its description - Computer Monitor | 3D model . Does anyone know what could be in the model that makes my browser’s WebGL unhappy?

There’s 5 x 4K textures so that could be taking up all the VRAM. As a test, can you try deleting all the textures and see if it still crashes.

If it doesn’t then you would either need to use Basis texture compression to reduce the amount of VRAM used by the textures and/or resize the textures to something much smaller. (1K or 2K)

Thanks for the answer, I tried with and without the textures and the result is still the same.

Could still be texture related.

Could you open the profiler and check the VRAM usage (screenshot would be handy)
https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/user-manual/optimization/profiler/

Here’s the VRAM when there’s no crash (and model is disabled):
nocrash

And here is during the crash (model is enabled):
crash

When I enable the models even the editor crashes, so I need few restarts of the editor in order to disable the models.

Yeah, that’s really high and probably exceeded integrated graphics VRAM. With the textures that are being used, are any really large that can be made smaller? e.g 4K down to 1K or lower?