Assistance with Movement please

Can someone please help me with this very simple game I have been trying to put together. I’m stuck on getting the players to move, no not move an animate, just simply moving. I’ve spent the last 3 days researching and reading other tutorials but just not getting it. I would like to have just a 2D button, that would trigger a function, but I’m having problems understanding that. If I got that correlation, the understanding will help me. Here is my project.
https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/1140019
I’m new to all of this so I’m not sure how to post correctly. Thanks in advance if you do help, literally spent 3 days on this.

Hi @Jason_Owens and welcome,

You can start by studying the following movement tutorial:

https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/tutorials/first-person-movement/

Your scripts are set to a right start, you just need to implement input handlers. So movement happens only when there is user input.

1 Like

Thank you for your prompt reply. I think I was just need rest because this morning I woke up, watched a few more videos, and I saw your message and I was able to put together this. I may need to start over from the multiplayer boilerplate, as right now, I’m just wanting to get 2 players (which will ultimately have units of 4 each) to connect to each other and me be able to manipulate movement on one side, while being able to view it on the other connected machine. Sorry for giving you all this info now, but basically I’m taking the game Parchessi, and making my own version. This is my original game, but it’s 2D and we only can play on 1 touchscreen (still fun). My Game

Now that I at least have movement, you can see it now and get a better idea on what I’m going with. You can move by pressing the up arrow, and the player hops around the mapped out board. I will now start to add my tweens animations.

Thanks again for your help, and welcoming me to the community.

1 Like