Adapting to device screen

Hi,
I am new to playcanvas and I had been developing a 2d game and I am not sure how to adapt the background to device width and height. I have a race track as a background(not in the 2D screen.) and when I run the game for different device, the background doesn’t fit the screen and the game should be played in portrait mode. I am not sure how to do it. Any suggestions would be helpful.
Thank you

Hi @maheshnaik and welcome,

if you are using a 2D screen you can play with the Scale Blend property to stop your screen from resizing in relation to the window width:

Another option is to change the Fill Mode option in your rendering settings to Keep aspect ratio. This way the canvas will always be visible and fully fit the active window:

@Leonidas Thank you for your reply.
I have a 2D screen for UI elements and I have used Scale Blend as you said, it is working fine. I have a race track as a background which is not inside the 2D screen. I am not able to fit the background to the screen. I have attached the screenshot below.
Fill Mode set to Keep aspect ratio portrait mode

Fill Mode set to Keep aspect ratio landscape mode

As you can see in the portrait mode, the scene is in the middle and there is black screen on either side of the race track.
I have set Fill Mode set to Fill window and below is the screenshot.

in Fill window mode some portion on either side will be sliced and 2D screen elements doesn’t appear on top.
I don’t know whether I should change in game settings or add a script to adapt to the screen or change camera fov.

Do you want the background to be filled regardless if you are in portrait or landscape, or just portrait?

just portrait.

In which case, you would want:

Resolution Mode: Auto
Fill mode: Fill Window

The Flappy Bird game enforces a portrait view by adding borders on wider resolutions: https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/tutorials/flappy-bird/