More documentation/tutorials for engine-only users

Hello people of PlayCanvas!

My name is Nigh7Sh4de and I am an undergraduate student in Computer Science and have a growing fascination for creaitng video games. Since JavaScript is probably one of my all time favourite languages PlayCanvas, being an entirely JavaScript game development engine, is something truly amazing. The fact that I can just link to a single .js file and be able to start coding games in my editor is awesome. The only problem is that the vast majority of literature and help that is available for PlayCanvas is based on using the Designer. Through my (admidatedly) short time experimenting with PlayCanvas (just the engine) I have run into countless headache-inducing and frustrating little things that I have to (not so painfully) do in order to work around the fact I’m not using the designer. The biggest problem by far with this is that except for posting my question on answers.playcanvas.com every single time I want to do something I haven’t tried before there is absolutely no material for me to look at and study to try and figure it out on my own. Please please please create a documentation or in the tutorials add little asides for how to use just the engine as that would be extremely helpful.

Thanks for your time :smiley:

1 Like

Welcome to the community. I’m new myself and in the process of understanding PlayCanvas Design Editor, and Engine. With that said, may I make the following recommendations for your consideration:

PlayCanvas Developer Resources
http://developer.playcanvas.com/en/

From there you will find links for the source code on GitHub:
https://github.com/playcanvas

The Readme.md has instructions (brief) how to setup for a local run. Assuming that you use the engine locally, you may find some useful coding tips in the API Reference:
http://developer.playcanvas.com/en/engine/api/stable/

Let me know if you need additional help.