Youtube Video iFrame Doesn't Quite Work

I am very new to Play Canvas, just started yesterday. But I have been coding in Unity for about 5 years and Unreal for about 2 years; and professionally developing for 4 years now. I am trying to use the iFrame tutorials to build a simple scene that displays a youtube video on a plane. I downloaded and imported the css3Renderer.js from the example and tried to use it myself.

I was able to get almost everything working however the video is black. The UI for the video is there and it even starts with the Thumbnail but the moment I press play the video goes black. I feel like I am missing something really small here.

This is the link to my project again I am very new so I might be doing this wrong.
https://playcanvas.com/editor/scene/1097096

Thank you for any help

1 Like

Seems to work here:

There may be a browser/platform combination this doesn’t work on. I know iOS has some placement issues that I’ve yet to fix.

That makes sense,

On my android using chrome it worked fine. But on my windows PC using chrome it is black but all the UI is there.

I am not very familiar with the HTML5 & Javascript environment. If I understand correctly Javascript creates a canvas to display the application on the HTML5 webpage. And we are using DOM to render the video. The placement of the video is via the Css3Renderer & Css3Plane, provided by the PlayCanvas Youtube tutorial. So if that is correct would I need to look in the Css3Renderer and Plane scripts?

Or is there a simpler solution/workaround?

Looking at it more though, the sample project works for me it is only when I tried to implement it when I found problems.

So I am the problem here, haha, I just don’t know where I went wrong.

Yes, your understanding is correct. The code effectively cuts a ‘hole’ in the canvas to allow DOM objects behind the canvas to show through (the YT video in this case)

Do you have any extensions installed that could block the video?