Will PlayCanvas have an offline client in the future

I am a Chinese developer. Playcanvas is excellent. My online service using Playcanvas is very slow. Will Playcanvas have an offline client in the future? Use free, unreal-like fees.

1 Like

Sorry about the experience in using PlayCanvas in Asia. We are looking to expand our infrastructure to better serve our users but unfortunately, don’t have a timeline yet.

An offline editor is not something we are looking to do at this time.

2 Likes

I think you can just download it from GitHub and use it on a local “node.js” server.

I remember seeing someone called “whydoidoit??” doing something like that if I’m not mistaking.

If referring to the Babel template, you still use the online editor to handle 3D stuff and assets. Only you do script code editing from your own local computer and can have your own maintained seperate scripting codebase on github/repository.

@Glenn_Ko we also have a new tool called playcanvas-sync that makes it easier to write code offline and on your local PC https://github.com/playcanvas/playcanvas-sync

1 Like

The editor is not open source, I want to deploy the editor locally. This will be more smooth to use. If this is based on business model considerations, can you refer to the charging method of unreal engine?

When you say deploy, do you mean deploying to your own server?

It’s not so simple to deploy to local server, and that’s part of the reason it cannot easily run locally. It has whole bunch of amazon servers running: databases / collaboration services / 10s of job types that execute in the cloud and similar. As @yaustar mentioned, we’re looking at improving availability and speed worldwide, and have been working on this for many months now, but at the moment don’t have plans to be able to run offline.