Change material diffuse tint color

Hi

I was wondering if there’s a way to change the tint color of certain map(ie. diffuse, ambient) of material using code?

Have a look at the reply here

It talks about emissive color, but diffuse will probably be the same.

There are properties on the material object to set and update properties. In this case:

material.diffuseMapTint = new pc.Color(1,0,0);
material.update();

By the way, if you hover your mouse over the material property in the editor it will give you the API definition of the property:

e.g.

1 Like

Does this really work for you? I’m brand new to PlayCanvas, but diffuseMapTint is a Boolean and I tried your code, but it was unsuccessful in my case. The solution for me was:

material.diffuse.set(1,0,0);

Sorry for revisiting the old post, but maybe this helps someone because I was pulling out my greys for a tid bit.

3 Likes

Yes @PocketHigh, you are correct (remembering that you still need to call material.update();)

Hey Will, how would you go about changing the tint color of a single object? using “this.entity.model.meshInstances[0].material.diffuse” is changing all of the instances.

Either clone the material and assign the cloned material to the mesh instance after which you can change whatever property of the cloned material you want or instead use meshInstances[0].setParameter('color_diffuse', [r, g, b]).

3 Likes

Hey, thanks for the help :slight_smile:

What is the most performance-friendly solution?

I suspect using setParameter is marginally faster, but I still prefer doing it with cloned materials. You may notice that pcMeshInstance#setParameter is still not public API (see API ref). I personally don’t like the function because it requires knowledge of GLSL uniform names, which themselves are not fixed or documented.

2 Likes

None of the above solutions seem to be working for me in chrome console … I want to set the tint color on diffuse.