Making PlayCanvas (and its TOU) teacher-friendly

Hey!

I’m an art teacher who mostly teaches digital media. In the past I’ve used Unity with my groups, but with COVID I shifted to PlayCanvas with my summer art camp groups, and it’s been great. The PlayCanvas folks even helped set us up with some ‘Personal’ accounts for the kids so their projects and data could remain confidential/private. A great experience all around. We had teens collaborating on awesome projects, on machines ranging from gaming rigs to Macbooks to Chromebooks, in multiple projects!

I’ve been sharing my teaching materials and experiences with other teachers, and have been trying to set up some workshops with public school districts in my area (in the US). While folks are very enthusiastic, I find we keep getting hung on on school boards’ tech and legal teams in terms of the default non-privacy on free accounts, and the language in the TOU.

While PlayCanvas worked great for me as an independent teacher working at a camp with a set group of students, it’s harder to get off the ground for classroom teachers working with teens (or younger kids, who are explicitly excluded by the TOU). I know PlayCanvas is not primarily an educational tool, and PlayCanvas would sacrifice income having some free private accounts that they couldn’t leverage as content. But I wonder if working to make it more ed-friendly might help establish it as a go-to tool, similar to Unity, that kids are already familiar with - and in this remote-learning moment, it could really rise to meet a need.