Insert model from asset library using script

Hello experts.

I’m quite new to Playcanvas and have bumped into a basic problem.
I have imported a .FBX and assigned a script to it, named “Landscaperelated.js”.
I have imported another .FBX, named “tree” and would like to make a routine that pick the tree from the asset library and put several instances of it as children of the landscape. It all seem to work, except the part where a tree is actually placed in the scene (see comments).

Inside Landscaperelated, I have this code inside the initializer:

Landscaperelated.prototype.initialize = function() {
    var app = this.app;
    var mainModel = this;       
    var asset = this.app.assets.find("tree");
    asset.ready(function (asset) {
        console.log("Asset loaded");
        // Later, put a loop here to generate several trees.
        var objekt = new pc.Model(asset.resource);
        mainModel.entity.addChild(objekt); // Does not work - returns "graphnode is already parented"
        mainModel.entity.model.model = asset.resource; // Does work, but replaces the landscape
    });
    this.app.assets.load(asset);
}

I have spent hours on such a small problem. Can someone help me out, please?

Have you seen this tutorial:

http://developer.playcanvas.com/en/tutorials/intermediate/procedural-levels/

Sounds like it’s doing what you want, but with houses instead of trees.

Brilliant - I got so focused on retrieving the assets directly from the asset library that I overlooked other solutions.
Thanks a lot!

Hi, doctorweile.
You can use
objekt.reparent(mainModel.entity);
to replace
mainModel.entity.addChild(objekt);
to solve the problem “graphnode is already parented”.

1 Like

Hello WingUNO

I tried that approach before my post while still having hair to tear out, based on another post - but it returned a “objekt.reparent is not a function” error.