Hello - newbie questions

Hi Guys - I’m new to PlayCanvas, coming from the CG side of things (C4D, Houdini, Arnold, Redshift).

I’m wanting to create a 3D virtual gallery, whereby a player can walk around the gallery and look at various pieces of artwork on the walls. But I’ve got a few best-practise type questions:

• in terms of efficiency (speed and load times), would it better to break the geometry for the walls into lots of smaller ‘chunks’ (each with smaller texture sizes, say 1024x1024) or fewer bigger ‘chunks’ (with larger textures of 4096x4096)…?

• are there any general rules for how many total polygons a scene can handle comfortably? I know it will probably depend on graphics card etc, but are there any best practises in terms of total polygon count? I’m trying to figure out if I can afford to bevel all the geometry, for example!

Many thanks,
Adam

@adametheridge
There can be collision problems with high-poly models, but if your map is hand modeled with primitives it should be fine, and smaller chunks should be better than big chunks, and you should use blank entities to group the peices, its way easier.

(p.s, i also have an fps script you can use if you dont have time to code your own)

Thanks for such a speedy reply Gavin, thats great.

Do you think there’s an approx max total number of polygons in a scene I should stay under?

I have some experience with CG optimization for mobile devices. All I saying is valid for mobile devices, I am not sure about the desktop:

1. Bigger chunks are faster because 1 chunk = 1 draw call. Mobile devices are very sensitive to draw calls, especially in WebGL.
  2. Yeah, It depends on your graphics card. For something like Samsung Galaxy 7 it could be 100000 polygons, but for an Intel Core i9 + GTX3080 it could be 10000000. You never know until you try.

Welcome to PlayCanvas, Adam!