Entity reaction delayed after applying torque

Hello,

project: https://playcanvas.com/project/472141/overview/20170403001jjhypercube

synopsis: I am trying to combine physics with a non physics based rotation but once I apply torque it seems like there is a delay before the ‘system’ picks back up again.

description: Its a bit hard to explain because im new to PC and 3D animation, though I am familiar with 2d animation and the concepts like lerp’ing and vectors. What I did was use some code I found in another project that multiplies some quaternions together from the camera to to a precise rotation for a cube based on the pointer device. Everything for that works fine, but at the end of a dragging interaction at mouse up I want any excess mouse movement to be applied to the rigid body as torque. When the user then clicks on the cube, I want the torque to clear out and the non physics based rotation to start back up. What happens instead is that the cube doesnt react to the dragging until a second or so after the click and drag begins again. I want the transition to be smooth from the cube spinning to it stopping with the pointer clicking and star following the pointer again.

steps to reproduce:

1. click and hold the cube
  2. move the mouse at a slow delta while mouse pressed
  3. you should see the cube following the pointer
  4. move the pointer in a direction and release the mouse
  5. you should see it start taking torque
  6. click on the cube while its torqueing and try dragging
    result - the cube stops and pointer moves but the cube doesnt follow it until a second later
    expected - the cube should instantly stop when ‘clicked’ and begin following the pointer while dragging

Thanks

Few things to mention:

1. If you are using physics rigidbody on an entity, then do not operate on entity using setRotation and similar methods, as it will “detach” entity from physical object.