Button click animation file not changing ( Help )

I am new to Playcanvas, am suck in this stage

i have changed 3d object from idle to play state through keyboard key, but i want this by using 2d screen button click event.

my code for animation :

AnimationBlending.states = {
idle: {
animation: ‘player.json’
},
punch: {
animation: ‘player_Animation.json’
}

this is keyboard shortcut key code :
AnimationBlending.prototype.keyDown = function (e) {
if ((e.key === pc.KEY_P) && (this.state !== ‘punch’)) {
this.setState(‘punch’);
}
};

Hi @santhosh_design,

Take a look at the following tutorial, it explains in detail how to add a 2D button using Playcanvas UI elements and how to program it to respond to click events:

https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/tutorials/ui-elements-buttons/

Hi [Leonidas],
Thanks for your help. i have read this tutorial and did some animations like rotation and moving
through findByName.

But i created btnstate.js for 2d button and animation.js for 3d animated object. the above code i mentioned was written in animation.js.

i dont know how to intract with btnstate.js click event to animation.js change state. i dont know am i on write way.

Good, what you need is to learn how to communicate events between scripts. So when something happens in one script (click event in btnstate.js) you can communicate that to the other script and respond by executing an action (play animation in animation.js).

Playcanvas provides a robust events API in all scripts which you can leverage to do that. You can learn how to use it here:

https://developer.playcanvas.com/en/user-manual/scripting/communication/

I tried the above link and got the result through console. But not able to change animation state.

var onPlayerMove = function(bt) {
console.log(bt); // result = punch
this.setState(bt); // i need some thing like this
};

this.app.on(‘animationBlending:move’,onPlayerMove);