I know nothing of code. Let it not be so

To put it simply, I’d like to be able to look at lines of code without losing the will to live. The tutorials aren’t bad, but, as with all sites I’ve been to, it feels like it assumes I know what most of the lingo it uses means. I’m completely new to code and by that I mean I’m trying to enter a this building and don’t even know where the door is. You may say I’m maybe starting too complex by coming here to learn, and I won’t disagree there, yet I’ve even gone to sites that try to teach complete beginners, and I find myself with questions that… well, my monitor can’t exactly answer.

For example, a few questions I have:
-How do you guys remember what does what? Do you have a book full of commands you refer to?

• What in the world does var mean?
  • Why are there {'s and }'s strewn about? What do those do?
    -The tutorials kept referencing to an “on()” but i could find no parentheses with an on before them.

You may have your face in your palms at this moment, wondering what on earth I’m doing in a place like this, but you now know at what point I’m at (and where I’m not at) in this process of learning. I’ve never been able to self teach myself something unless it’s very intuitive… and that’s where I’ve been falling short here. I have trouble learning something unless I know what I’m typing is actually doing. I tend to understand better when I’m asking a lot of questions, otherwise it drives me insane. I don’t want to give up on this either, though I’ve been close to due to frustration. Any help, or advice, or know of a site where I could learn from where I’m at?

P.S. If you’ve read all this I thank you for taking the time.

Making games is a great way to learn programming, but it is pretty daunting to start off. We do assume a certain level of understanding of javascript to use PlayCanvas.

You should check out this course: http://www.codecademy.com/en/tracks/javascript