How do I monetize with PlayCanvas?

I’m very new to Playcanvas (I dont even know if should capitalize the ‘C’ :slight_smile: ) and I was wondering the best way to monetize. As the system seems to link directly to the web page is having Paypal buttons an option to unlock different portions of the game for example? ARe there other way to monetize easily within the playcanvas canvas itself? (Adverting etc)

Cheers

A PlayCanvas application is essentially a web page. You can run any ads you want or do whatever you would do in a regular web page. You could also add in-game purchases any way you like. PlayCanvas does not have any explicit built-in monetization services so you’re free to use whatever you like.

Many thanks. Are there any example games out there that anyone knows of that have some kind of payment system? (Just so I can take a look). I have no idea, for example, if payments with paypal create a callback which I can then use in the PlayCanvas engine to unlock parts of the game or if there is some other way it is done. It would be really interesting to know more, (a tutorial) or see an example of how it’s done.

Maybe I’m shallow, but monetization is hugely important to me :slight_smile: I apologize for this.

I think you will have to research this - there are various services for processing payments. Stripe is a popular one you might want to look into that. Not sure about PayPal.

If you make games with payments, such as PayPal, then you need to host game yourself. As mentioned by @vaios, this is not PlayCanvas related actually, but generic to web development.

Most monetization model is ads in web, here is one of the examples: http://blastarena.io/ - he uses multiple ads formats in his game to generate revenue.